Election code changes means a longer campaign for Nak’azdli

The campaign trail will be much longer than usual for those who let their names stand for the Nak'azdli Band election on August 8, 2013.

The campaign trail will be a much longer road than usual for those choosing to let their names stand for the Nak’azdli Band election on August 8, 2013.

This year, there will be the option of mail-in ballots for registered Nak’azdli Band members who want to vote.

While normally, the campaign only goes on for three weeks, mail-in ballots means the process will take a little longer, which is why nominations this year took place before the annual general assembly.

“That way it gives time for people to request mail-in ballots,” said Electoral Officer Susan Barfoot.

The mail-in option is a new one, and it will offer those who will be away or who live off-reserve the opportunity to still have their say in the local election.

Band members eligible to vote can contact the Nak’azdli Band Administrative Office at 250-996-7171 in order to obtain their ballots (one for the position of chief, one for the councillors). Completed ballots must be received by 6 p.m. on election day to be counted.

For the exact rules and requirements for the mail-in ballots, see the Nak’azdli Band website: www.nakazdli.ca

Three advance polls will also be held, one on Nak’zadli Reserve on July 25 at Kwah Hall, one in Prince George on July 29 at the Carrier-Sekani Tribal Council office and one in Vancouver with date and location to be confirmed.

All of the advance polls will be open from 11 a.m. until 7 p.m..

Election day polls in Kwah Hall will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m..

The Nak’azdli Band only has a full turnover of chief and council every six years, due to staggered elections and so this is a big election year.

On June 3, when the election deadline came down, there was a long list of names up for the positions of eight band councillors and one chief.

While nominees have two weeks to finalize if they will let their names stand for the election, so far there are 11 nominees for chief and 36 for councillors.

The list of nominees will be updated continually by Electoral Officer Susan Barfoot and posted in Kwah Hall.

The All Candidates Forum date and time will be announced once it is set.